Just another WordPress.com site

Sweet Potatoes! Yum!

This week, I received the following question from http://foodpicker.org

I was recently diagnosed with Pre-Diabetes and I’m trying to follow a low fat diet.  I have a question I hope that you can answer.  Are sweet potatoes considered a vegetable and are they ok to eat in my diet? -Kara D.

Sweet potatoes happen to be my absolute favorite food in the whole entire world! I am such an advocate for this super-food.

Now when I call it a super food, I mean a sweet potato is loaded with many of the nutrients you need in your daily diet. And of course, they are absolutely delicious!

Sweet potatoes are high in vitamins A, C, and B6, potassium, calcium, and manganese. They are also helpful in stabilizing blood sugar. They are very nutrient dense, meaning they are low in calories, but high in nutrients and satiety value. Satiety value means they will keep you full for a long time.

One reason that I love sweet potatoes much more than regular white potatoes, is that I can just eat them plain. They are so sweet and delicious without any toppings. Eating a sweet potato plain definitely saves you on calories, compared to loading a white potato with butter, sour cream, and cheese. If you feel the need to add a little something to your sweet potato, try a teaspoon of honey or a shake of cinnamon.

Sweet potatoes are great! Eat up!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

