Just another WordPress.com site

What to eat?

This week, I received the following question from http://foodpicker.org.

I have type 2 Diabetes but am not on meds yet.  I am trying to control by diet and exercise.  My problem is now that I am eating healthier I am losing weight, and I don’t need to.  I am 5’5” and currently weigh 112 lbs.  What can I eat that is still good for me but will put some weight back on? -Holly S.

First things first. Congratulations on your weight loss. That is step one of the battle. Now it’s time to continue living a healthy life.

Most importantly, keep fruits, vegetables, and whole highly prevalent in your diet. They are full of vitamins and minerals and will keep you full.

In your diet, you should include lean protein, such as, grilled chicken, lean turkey breast, and salmon (full of omega-3 fatty acids). Steer clear from meats high in saturated fat, such as fatty steaks and burgers. Increasing the amount of protein you eat can help you gain muscle when combined with exercise.

Also, to maintain your weight, hit the gym. Lifting weights will put on muscle, which will increase your metabolism and keep you healthy and energetic. Also, include cardiovascular exercise to strengthen your heart. It is healthier for you to gain weight through exercise and muscle mass, instead of trying to do it directly through food choices.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

